A Fine Imitation

Leave a comment

March 29, 2016 by Betty

Sorry I’ve been gone for the past two weeks. Life got busy. However I wanted to go ahead and make a quick review on a book I won through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers, because I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. 

Title: A Fine Imitation 

Author: Amber Brock

Genre: Historical Fiction

Release Date: May 3rd

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

It is set in the 1920’s and is focused on the story of a privileged Manhattan socialite name Vera (Longacre) Bellington. I have never been a fan of Historical Fiction, so when I won this book I was not thrilled in the least. I didnt think I’d enjoy it, yet I found it so enthralling. Not the part where she decides to have an affair with the painter her husband hired, but just being a spectator to the troubles she has despite being so well-to-do economically and socially. Vera lives a life of quiet desperation because her husband is never home and her mother is always judging her and expecting more from her. The story switches back and forth between the present day and her last year in Vassar college.

I really loved seeing how kind and desperate for love Vera is and how she has to hide that deep within her to fit the “ideals” her mother and husband have. She also has at strong sense of what is right and what’s wrong but she is “bullied” many times into going against her moral compass. I won’t give anything away, but I truly enjoyed it and recommend this book even if you don’t have much love for historical fiction. 

What do you think about historical fiction?

Leave a Reply

