Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop

Leave a comment

March 6, 2016 by Betty

Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop has been one of my most anticipated reads since the second I finished the one preceding it (Visions in Silver) and did not even know the name of the next one. When I saw it on NetGalley I decided to request it even thought I figured that I would be declined. After seeing my email informing me that I had been accepted, well…

fangirling

Thank god I was alone. Literally this was me. I wouldn’t have cared at the moment since I was dying of excitement and emotional overload, but afterward…yeah that would have been embarrassing.

Usually when I love a book, I make THE longest review. While I absolutely, completely, entirely and wholeheartedly ADORED and was ENAMORED of this book, I will make the BIGGEST effort to keep this relatively short. Here goes:

 

oh my stars

OH. MY. STARS. is right!!!!

So much happened in this book! I won’t spoil anything, especially since I was allowed to read this book before it came out but let me say that most of the series before was building up to what happened in this book. So as not to confuse anyone, here is what the first Book is about:

As a cassandra sangue, or blood prophet, Meg Corbyn can see the future when her skin is cut—a gift that feels more like a curse. Meg’s Controller keeps her enslaved so he can have full access to her visions. But when she escapes, the only safe place Meg can hide is at the Lakeside Courtyard—a business district operated by the Others.

Shape-shifter Simon Wolfgard is reluctant to hire the stranger who inquires about the Human Liaison job. First, he senses she’s keeping a secret, and second, she doesn’t smell like human prey. Yet a stronger instinct propels him to give Meg the job. And when he learns the truth about Meg and that she’s wanted by the government, he’ll have to decide if she’s worth the fight between humans and the Others that will surely follow.”

The HFL movement has really upped their game in harming The Others, and trying to “reclaim” what they believe is rightfully theirs. When they take it too far and cause irreparable damage, the Elders decide to take things into their own hands. And the HFL members are not the only ones who will suffer.

Then there was that ending!!! The development in Meg’s and Simon’s relationship has sooooo painfully slow. Now, that is not a bad seeing how Simon is a Wolf and Meg is so innocent and inexperienced and ignorant in “normal” day to day things. Not to mention that she has suffered bad experiences with men while being in the Controller’s compound. HOWEVER!!!! **commence the drum roll please** THERE IS NEW DEVELOPMENT! Literally in the VERY last chapter, Meg “sees” something that has her thinking about her relationship with Simon. And the book ends with her and Simon…alone…sleeping on a blanket after fulfilling a “request” of Meg’s. (Get your mind out of the gutter guys!) Meg is still really unsure of how things will work out and Simon is confused by the meaning/significance behind her request. I need the next book and this one isn’t even officially out yet!

If anyone is looking for a new urban fantasy book to read, I can not recommend this series enough. Even if you aren’t looking for an UF read, READ IT! Just do it. Give in to peer pressure. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

