Rodent by Lisa J Lawrence

Leave a comment

March 4, 2016 by Betty

I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book! It was truly just a beautifully brutal, deeply moving and emotionally fraught gem. I won this book through a giveaway and really did not have that high expectations for it. However, I literally read it in one sitting (well, lying?, as I was in bed and decided to start it and did not end up going to sleep until about 1:30 in the morning) and could NOT put it down. I cried throughout half of the book, I kid you not. Horribly, ugly tears, of pain and sadness and despair for Isabelle. I truly loved this book so much more than I thought I would and just can not give it enough praise. 5+ stars without any doubt.

It was so detailed but not in a boring, overwhelming kind of way. It was more of a realistic, easy to picture kind of way. Isabelle, the protagonist of the story could be just about any person you meet in real life. When she’s at school or work or just away from home, she doesn’t broadcast a beaten sad look that gives away the fact that her mother is a alcoholic. She hides it from others and gives off the impression that she is a regular old, quiet, reserved and shy teenager. Also, since Isabelle’s mom is not a violent drunk, Isabelle mostly struggles with the emotional weight of having to cover up her mom’s drinking, get his brother and sister to school and back each day, bullying, work to feed her siblings, and pretend that nothing is wrong.

She has to be so practical and forego so many things that are considered normal because they can’t afford it or simply because she doesn’t want to let people get close to her and learn what her home life is like. It really hit me hard to read what she went through because she is just a junior in high school. She has to act  and live as though she were much older because if she doesn’t her little siblings are the ones who really suffer and she refuses to let that happen. I really just experienced every feeling imaginable.As if her problems at home weren’t enough, she also gets bullied at school.

feels wave

This is an ARC I won, but when it comes out March 22 I would definitely recommend it to everyone looking for a great read. I would give it more stars if I could. Really, everyone just go read it!

Leave a Reply

