Thoughts on Gifted Thief by Helen Harper

Leave a comment

February 23, 2016 by Betty

While scrolling through the available books on Netgalley, I came across this book which seemed interesting. The cover was quite eye catching and the summary intriguing. I applied for it and was accepted to read it. Here is an overview on the book:

Title: Gifted Thief
Author: Helen Harper
Published: January 29, 2016
Rating ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Orphan. Runaway. Thief.
Since the moment I was ripped from my mother’s womb, I’ve been an outcast amongst my own kind. The Sidhe might possess magical Gifts, unbelievable wealth and unfathomable power but I don’t want a thing to do with them. I ran away from their lands in the Highlands of Scotland when I was eleven years old and I’ve never looked back. I don’t need a Clan. I’ve got my own family of highly skilled thieves who mean more to me than any Sidhe ever could.
Unfortunately for me, the playboy heir to the Moncrieffe Clan has something I desperately need. To get it back, I’m going to have to plunge myself back into that world, no matter what the consequences may be. I suppose it’s just as well I have sense of humour. I think I’m going to need it.

As  I read it, I found the main character a little clichéd in her thoughts and attitude and I felt very detached from her and the story. The book itself is good and the story line had a lot of potential, I just feel that they way it was executed was a little flat and did not live up to it’s potential. Integrity’s humor is very flat and ridiculous in her use of puns (my sister is like this so I understand it can be funny sometimes), and while I get that it is supposed o be part of her charm and personality I just felt like it was badly written. Most of the time I and the characters on the recieveing end of the jokes felt something like this:

waiting

She would say these jokes in random situations where it was just pointless to say. It wasn’t to break tension or in a setting where it could be taken well, it was more like utter nonsense.

That being said, it is a quick  read and it really isn’t bad. However, if you enjoy books that are thought provoking or have characters you can relate to, you just won’t find that in this book. This fits more as a filler read between books you really want to read. Nonetheless, I think if you were contemplating reading it, give it a try!

Leave a Reply

