January Wrap Up

Leave a comment

February 15, 2016 by Betty

Hello fellow bloggers!

I’ve procrastinated for 15 days (half a month!) and I think that is more than the limit for what is socially acceptable. Nonetheless, I have finally decided to sit down and do my January wrap up.

Here is a screen shot of the books I read in January.

BooksSeeing how I have the goal of read 100 books in the year, I need to read about between 8 and 9 books a month. Last month I was able to read 10, so I will admit I was very pleased with myself. Let me hop right into this and try to keep this somewhat abbreviated.

 

SCAR

 

  • The Scarlet Trilogy by A.C. Gaughen. I was blown away, but this story. It’s not really spectacular in terms of unexpected twists, turns, or plot, but the story and struggle of Scarlet herself were absolutely beautiful and real and evocative. I will be rereading AND purchasing this series soon.
  • In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey. This is very emotional and a tear jerker more than anything else. It is the story of two people who have dementia at a young age (29 and 30 I believe it was) and the struggles they encounter.
  • Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy. A story about a girl who was kidnapped and raped at the age of 12 and the trauma she still struggles against 8 years later. (Like I said, these are really abbreviated summaries/commentary)
  • Death Sworn by Leah Cypess
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen. My requisite one classic book a month. I really enjoyed it. Although, I may have felt that there was a lot of hype that I just didn’t completely agree with.
  • 2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas by Marie-Helene Bertino.
  • The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson. I truly just did not like this book at all. Shakespeare’s version was probably really good, but the modernization of this story was absolutely horrid to me. Mostly because it involved crude sexualizing, profane language, and a few other similar things.

And I that’s what I read for the month of January. I promise I will be more punctual for February. I will probably start writing it within the next week and work on it until it is ready to be published at the start of March. I am such a horrid procrastinator!

 

 

Leave a Reply

