Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

2

January 22, 2016 by Betty

I checked this book out at the library when I saw it, because I had heard so much praise on it. I always have the fear that books that I’ve heard and seen being praise and recommended will turn out to actually be disappointingly bland and boring. Thank you Jesus this was not the case with Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen. It was simply a magnificent read. The story is about Will Scarlet, a member in Robin Hood’s band of thieves. Here is the Goodreads Blurb:

Will Scarlet is good at two things: stealing from the rich and keeping secrets – skills that are in high demand in Robin Hood’s band of thieves, who protect the people of Nottingham from the evil sheriff. Scarlet’s biggest secret of all is one only Robin and his men know…that she is posing as a thief; that the slip of a boy who is fast with sharp knives is really a girl.

The terrible events in her past that led Scarlet to hide her real identity are in danger of being exposed when the thief taker Lord Gisbourne arrives in town to rid Nottingham of the Hood and his men once and for all. As Gisbourne closes in a put innocent lives at risk, Scarlet must decide how much the people of Nottingham mean to her, especially John Little, a flirtatious fellow outlaw, and Robin, whose quick smiles have the rare power to unsettle her. There is real honor among these thieves and so much more – making this a fight worth dying for.

I was hooked from the very first chapter. It started off pretty fast paced and it never slowed down. Scarlet is just my idol. I love her personality and character and how she is so independent and self reliant. She is such an asset to the group, she is the look out and an amazing fighter. I’ll stop gushing though. She’s just too amazing for words, though not perfect. She’s perfectly imperfect. Seriously though, I’ll stop now.

The rest of the band is just as great, although Little John is such a ladies man. Commence the eye rolling. The book is full of danger and mystery, betrayal and intrigue and everything in between. AND IT’S A TRILOGY!!! I learned that after I read it. I thought it was a standalone so that was pretty uplifting. I definitely recommend this book to all young adult lovers.

2 thoughts on “Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

  1. Angela JC says:

    This has been on my TBR list for ages. Looks like I need to move it up the list to read soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

